Caroline Bachmann

Caroline Bachmann

2013–2021

Caroline Bachmann: 2022 laureate of Switzerland’s Prix Meret Oppenheim for art

 

  • October 2022   approx. CHF 49.00 | eur 48.00

 

Title Information

Edited by Julie Enckell Julliard. Contributions by Paul Bernard and Marta Dziewańska; conversation with Caroline Bachmann by Julie Enckell Julliard

1st edition

, 2022

Text in English and French

Paperback
approx. 192 pages, 150 color illustrations

25 x 29.5 cm

ISBN 978-3-85881-886-7

Content

Caroline Bachmann is one of Switzerland’s foremost contemporary artists. Alongside her independent work in painting and drawing, she has also formed one half of the artist duo Bachmann Banz, together with Stefan Banz, since 2004. Together, the two founded the Kunsthalle Marcel Duchamp—The Forestay Museum of Art in Cully, Switzerland, in 2009. In 2013, Bachmann reinvented herself as an artist and turned to classical themes of painting. She engages deeply with the genres of portraiture, still life, and history painting and takes up existential questions of the metaphysical and the sacred, creating compositions that strive not for a materialistic grasp of reality, but for a depiction of the spiritual dimension of existence.

This first comprehensive and richly illustrated monograph traces Caroline Bachmann’s extraordinary journey through the medium of painting. Essays by renowned experts on Bachmann's work and on contemporary Swiss art, as well as a conversation with the artist, reveal a creative self-discovery that is shaped by the ideals of artistic idols such as Marcel Duchamp, Louis Michel Eilshemius, and Arthur Dove, and set in motion by the courage to reinvent herself through subject, technique, and material.

 

Caroline Bachmann, born in 1963, studied graphic design at the École des arts décoratifs in Geneva. She lives and works as a freelance artist in Cully and Berlin. In 2007 she has been appointed professor and head of the department of painting and drawing at HEAD—Genève.

 

Julie Enckell Julliard is an art historian and a director at HEAD—Genève, where she has been head of the Cultural Development Department since 2018. Prior to this, she served as curator and from 2013 to 2018 as director of the Musée Jenisch in Vevey, Switzerland.

Authors & Editors

Caroline Bachmann

Caroline Bachmann

2013–2021

Caroline Bachmann: Preisträgerin des Schweizer Prix Meret Oppenheim für Kunst 2022

 

  • Oktober 2022   ca. CHF 49.00 | eur 48.00

 

Titelinformation

Herausgegeben von Julie Enckell Julliard. Mit Beiträgen von Paul Bernard, Marta Dziewańska sowie einem Gespräch mit Caroline Bachmann von und Julie Enckell Julliard

1. Auflage

, 2022

Text Englisch und Französisch

Broschur

ca. 192 Seiten, 150 farbige Abbildungen

25 x 29.5 cm

ISBN 978-3-85881-886-7

Inhalt

Caroline Bachmann zählt zu den herausragenden Protagonistinnen der Schweizer Gegenwartskunst. Neben ihrem eigenständigen Schaffen als Malerin und Zeichnerin bildet sie seit 2004 auch zusammen mit Stefan Banz das Künstlerduo Bachmann Banz. Gemeinsam gründeten die beiden 2009 die Kunsthalle Marcel Duchamp – The Forestay Museum of Art in Cully. 2013 entschloss sich Bachmann zu einem künstlerischen Neuanfang und einer Reaktivierung der klassischen Themen der Malerei. Sie beschäftigt sich seither intensiv mit den Genres Porträt, Stillleben und Historienmalerei. In ihren Werken greift sie die existenziellen Fragen des Metaphysischen und des Sakralen auf und entwirft Kompositionen, die nicht nach einer materialistischen Erfassung der Wirklichkeit streben, sondern nach einer Darstellung der spirituellen Beziehung zum Dasein.

Diese erste umfassende und reich illustrierte Monografie über Caroline Bachmann zeichnet ihren intensiven Parcours durch das Medium der Malerei nach. Essays ausgewiesener Kennerinnen und Kenner von Bachmanns Arbeiten und der Schweizer Gegenwartskunst sowie ein Gespräch mit der Künstlerin offenbaren eine kreative Selbstfindung, die geprägt ist von den Idealen künstlerischer Vorbilder wie Marcel Duchamp, Louis Michel Eilshemius oder Arthur Dove und in Gang gesetzt wird vom Mut zur Neuerfindung in Sujet, Technik und Material.

 

Caroline Bachmann, geboren 1963, studierte Grafikdesign an der damaligen École des arts décoratifs in Genf. Sie lebt und arbeitet als freischaffende Künstlerin in Cully und Berlin, seit 2007 ist sie zudem Professorin und Leiterin der Abteilung für Malerei und Zeichnung an der HEAD – Genève.

 

Julie Enckell Julliard ist Kunsthistorikerin und seit 2018 Direktionsmitglied der HEAD – Genève, wo sie die Abteilung Kulturelle Entwicklung leitet. 2004–2012 war sie als Konservatorin, 2013–2018 als Direktorin am Musée Jenisch in Vevey tätig.

Autoren & Herausgeber