Simone Kappeler – America 1981

Simone Kappeler – America 1981

Photographic experiment and personal liberation: Simone Kappeler's road trip across America

 

 

Title Information

Photographs by Simone Kappeler. With a text by Peter Pfrunder. Edited by Jürg Trösch and Markus Bosshard

1st edition

, 2020

Text English and German

Hardback

256 pages, 160 color and 77 b/w illustrations

24 x 34 cm

ISBN 978-3-85881-679-5

In cooperation with Codax Publisher, Zurich

Content

In the late 1970s and early 1980s, Zurich’s youth was rebellious. An entire generation of students was in search for the “new”. In 1981, photographic artist Simone Kappeler left her native Switzerland, setting off on a road trip across America. She took with her a Hasselblad, a 35 mm camera, as well as a Polaroid. Over the course of the journey, she would add a multitude of cheap cameras to this collection that enabled snapshot-like images—taken unselfconsciously whenever a motif sprang at her. The images reflect a direct and unrestrained manner, they tell of immediate sensual experience and the longing for freedom and independence.

Thirty-five years later, Kappeler has revisited the vast collection that resulted of her undertaking. The selection of some 230 images she has now made for and their composition in this new book reveal a consistent artistic perspective and a signature style. And even today, her 1981 view of America has lost none of its magic.

 

Simone Kappeler, born 1952, read German and French literature and art history at University of Zurich before studying photography at Zurich’s School of Design (now Zurich University of the Arts), from where she graduated in 1979. She lives and works as a freelance photographic artist in Zurich.

 

Peter Pfrunder is director of Swiss Foundation for Photography in Winterthur, Switzerland.

Authors & Editors
Praise

"It is of course a super story that the material had to be stored for over 35 years until Kappeler remembered it and Scheidegger & Spiess turned it into a book that can confidently be counted among the most beautiful of this summer". Photoklassik

 

"This book teaches us how exciting photo books work. Here, one thing is clear: absolute recommendation to buy!" Marc Peschke, Photonews

 

"I wouldn’t call it nostalgia, this affection for the uneventful past. It’s not about pining for traditional values or the phony simplicity of limited options. On the contrary, in those less demanding times, things open up. History loosens its grip. Imagination roams. Isn’t that a kind of freedom? Look at Kappeler’s spirited pictures and decide." Terence Monmaney, Smithsonian Magazine

 

"A beautifully printed piece of time travel." Ralf Groschwitz, Vine Voice Amazon

 

"A book that seems surprisingly fresh and tells of the great journey of the young woman who, together with a friend, spends three months in a Ford Gran Torino Station Wagon in the USA." Marc Peschke, PhotoKlassik

 

"This book is a remarkable document of artistic self-discovery and attitude in photography." Andreas Gebhardt, Kasseler Fotobuchblog

 

"The selection of pictures for this book and the composition of the 250 reproduced pictures reveal a consistent attitude and artistic signature despite the joy of experimentation. Kappeler's view of America from 1981 has lost none of its freshness to this day." Regina Plaar, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Photographie e.V.

 

"The fact that only now, almost forty years later, the public does take part in Simone Kappeler's visual experiences, neither diminishes the curiosity about her photographs, nor does it allow for the assumption that the pictures can possibly convey a dusty impression." Burkhard Maus, Mensch Maus…! Der Blog für die Freiheit der Künste

Simone Kappeler – America 1981

Simone Kappeler – America 1981

Fotografische Experimentierlust: Simone Kappelers Amerika-Roadtrip als Akt der Befreiung

 

 

Titelinformation

Fotografien von Simone Kappeler. Mit einem Text von Peter Pfrunder. Herausgegeben von Jürg Trösch und Markus Bosshard

1. Auflage

, 2020

Text Deutsch und Englisch

Gebunden

256 Seiten, 160 farbige und 77 sw Abbildungen

24 x 34 cm

ISBN 978-3-85881-679-5

In Zusammenarbeit mit Codax Publisher, Zürich

Inhalt

Ende der 1970er-Jahre rebelliert die Jugend in Zürich, eine ganze Generation sucht das «Neue». Die Fotografin Simone Kappeler lässt 1981 die helvetische Enge hinter sich und bricht zu einem Roadtrip nach Amerika auf: die Autoreise als Akt der Befreiung. Im Gepäck hat sie neben einer Hasselblad und einer Kleinbildkamera auch eine Polaroidkamera, mit der sie spontan und unbeschwert fotografieren kann. Auf der Reise ergänzt sie die Ausrüstung durch viele Billigkameras. Schnappschussartige Bilder entstehen, skizzenhaft und beiläufig, unbefangen, direkt und hemmungslos. Was zählt, ist der Augenblick, das unmittelbare und sinnliche Erlebnis, das Lied der Sehnsucht nach Freiheit und Unabhängigkeit.

Erst 35 Jahre später beginnt Kappeler, das ganze Material zu sichten und neu zu interpretieren. Die für dieses Buch getroffene Bildauswahl und die Komposition der rund 250 wiedergegebenen Bilder offenbaren trotz Experimentierfreude eine konsistente Haltung und künstlerische Handschrift. Kappelers Blick auf Amerika von 1981 hat bis heute nichts von seiner Frische verloren.

 

Simone Kappeler, geboren 1952, bildete sich nach einem Universitätsstudium von 1975 bis 1979 an der Schule für Gestaltung in Zürich (heute Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK) zur Fotografin aus. Sie lebt und arbeitet als freischaffende Künstlerin in Zürich.

 

Peter Pfrunder ist Direktor der Fotostiftung Schweiz in Winterthur.

 

Autoren & Herausgeber
Echo

«Es ist natürlich eine Supergeschichte, dass das Material über 35 Jahre lagern musste, bis sich Kappeler daran erinnerte und Scheidegger & Spiess ein Buch daraus machten, das man getrost zu den schönsten dieses Sommers zählen kann.» Photoklassik

 

«Dieses Buch lehrt uns, wie spannende Fotobücher funktionieren. Hier mal ganz klar: absolute Kaufempfehlung!» Marc Peschke, Photonews

 

«Ein schön gedrucktes Stück Zeitreise.» Ralf Groschwitz, Vine Voice Amazon

 

«Ein Buch, das erstaunlich frisch wirkt und von der grossen Reise der damals jungen Frau berichtet, die gemeinsam mit einer Freundin drei Monate in einem Ford Gran Torino Station Wagon in den USA unterwegs ist.» Marc Peschke, PhotoKlassik

 

«Dieses Buch ist ein bemerkenswertes Dokument von künstlerischer Selbstfindung und Haltung in der Fotografie.» Andreas Gebhardt, Kasseler Fotobuchblog

 

«Die für dieses Buch getroffene Bildauswahl und die Komposition der rund 250 wiedergegebenen Bilder offenbaren trotz Experimentierfreude eine konsistente Haltung und künstlerische Handschrift. Kappelers Blick auf Amerika von 1981 hat bis heute nichts von seiner Frische verloren.» Regina Plaar, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Photographie e.V.

 

«Dass erst jetzt, fast vierzig Jahre später, die Öffentlichkeit an Simone Kappelers visuellen Erlebnissen partizipiert, schmälert weder die Neugierde auf ihre Photographien, noch lassen sie die Vermutung zu, dass die Bilder eventuell einen angestaubten Eindruck vermitteln können.» Burkhard Maus, Mensch Maus…! Der Blog für die Freiheit der Künste

 

«I wouldn’t call it nostalgia, this affection for the uneventful past. It’s not about pining for traditional values or the phony simplicity of limited options. On the contrary, in those less demanding times, things open up. History loosens its grip. Imagination roams. Isn’t that a kind of freedom? Look at Kappeler’s spirited pictures and decide.» Terence Monmaney, Smithsonian Magazine