Hans Pieler

Hans Pieler

Architectures of Time

Time set in stone: Hans Pieler’s fascinating photographs of observatories and temple buildings

 

  • March 2023   approx. CHF 65.00 | eur 58.00

 

Title Information

Edited by Hubertus von Amelunxen and Ali Ghandtschi. Photographs by Hans Pieler. Essays by Hubertus von Amelunxen, Ali Ghandtschi, and Hermann Kern

1st edition

, 2023

Texts English and German

Hardback

approx. 240 pages, 140 color and b/w illustrations

24.5 x 32.5 cm

ISBN 978-3-03942-088-9

Content

For thousands of years, people have built so-called calendar buildings: buildings that served as sundials for measuring time or were used for astronomical calculations. The most famous examples include the Pyramids of Giza, the Megalithic Temples of Malta, the Solarium Augusti on Rome’s Campus Martius, or the ancient observatories in Korea, Baghdad, Cairo, or Samarkand. The oldest known archeo-astronomical device dates back to around 6000 BC and was discovered only some twenty years ago at Nabta Playa in Egypt.

The German photographer Hans Pieler (1951-2012) dedicated himself comprehensively to these calendar buildings. In a wide-ranging photographic project spanning fifteen years, Pieler travelled the world in the search for such sites, studied them, and recorded many of them in striking photographs. His interest was focused both on the architecture and its particular coding through the respective culture as well as on the theory of photography, the allegorical image of the time.

Due to Pieler’s premature death in 2012, the fascinating project remained unfinished and unpublished. This book now for the first time features a selection of some 100 of the best shots from the artist’s estate. Complemented by illuminating essays, they form a unique photographic study of these architectures and their meaning and purpose as a reflection of time in stone.

 

Hubertus von Amelunxen is an art historian, editor, curator, photography critic, and professor of philosophy of photography and cultural studies. He served as president of Braunschweig University of Art and of the European Graduate School, based in Saas-Fee, Switzerland, and Valletta, Malta.

 

Ali Ghandtschi is a Berlin-based photographer and keeper of the estate of Hans Pieler.

Authors & Editors

Hans Pieler

Hans Pieler

Architekturen der Zeit

Stein gewordene Zeit: Hans Pielers faszinierende Fotografien von Sternwarten und Tempelbauten

 

  • März 2023   ca. CHF 65.00 | eur 58.00

 

Titelinformation

Herausgegeben von Hubertus von Amelunxen und Ali Ghandtschi. Fotografien von Hans Pieler. Mit Texten von Hubertus von Amelunxen, Ali Ghandtschi und Hermann Kern

1. Auflage

, 2023

Text Deutsch und Englisch

Gebunden

ca. 240 Seiten, ca. 140 farbige und sw Abbildungen

24.5 x 32.5 cm

ISBN 978-3-03942-088-9

Inhalt

Seit Tausenden von Jahren haben Menschen sogenannte Kalenderbauten errichtet: Gebäude, die als Sonnenuhren der Zeitmessung dienten oder für astronomische Berechnungen verwendet wurden. Zu den bekanntesten gehören die Pyramiden von Gizeh, die Tempelbauten auf Malta, die Sonnenuhr des Kaisers Augustus auf dem Marsfeld in Rom oder die frühesten Sternwarten in Korea, Bagdad, Kairo oder Samarkand. Die älteste Sonnenuhr datiert von etwa 6000 v. Chr. und wurde erst vor zwanzig Jahren im ägyptischen Nabta entdeckt.
Der Berliner Fotograf Hans Pieler (1951–2012) hat sich diesen Kalenderbauten in umfassender Weise verschrieben. In einem gross angelegten, über fünfzehn Jahre dauernden fotografischen Projekt bereiste Pieler die Welt auf der Suche nach solchen Zeit-Stätten, studierte sie und hielt zahlreiche von ihnen in eindrücklichen Fotografien fest. Sein Interesse galt dabei sowohl der Architektur und ihrer besonderen Kodierung durch die jeweilige Kultur wie auch der Theorie der Fotografie, der allegorischen Bildzeit.

Durch Pielers frühen Tod 2012 blieb das faszinierende Projekt unvollendet. Nun wird es in Form eines Buchs doch noch der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt: Durch die wichtigsten Aufnahmen aus dem Nachlass und einordnende Texten wird diese fotografische Studie über Architekturen, deren Sinn und Ausrichtung in der steinernen Abbildung von Zeit liegt, erlebbar.

 

Hubertus von Amelunxen ist Fotohistoriker, Medienwissenschaftler und Herausgeber zahlreicher Bücher. Er war Präsident der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig sowie der European Graduate School.

 

Ali Ghandtschi ist ein Berliner Fotograf mit Schwerpunkt Porträtfotografie. Er verwaltet den Nachlass Hans Pielers.

Autoren & Herausgeber